Kathy Michaels's Profile

Kathy Michaels's picture

My Gender


A Little about Me

I'm a writer. I have a 15 year old son who has just completed his Permaculture Design Course. He is also interested in eco building, so it would be great for him to be able to participate in a build project.

Additional Photos

Why I Build Sustainably

I first became interested in it when my son began to research alternative lifestyles. I would love for both of us to be able to build our own home eventually and the idea of working with a group of like minded people appeals to us both a lot. Eventually I would love to be able to build affordable housing for those in need. And my lifelong dream has been to have an animal refuge. Building an eco home would allow me to live that dream.

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

I'm pretty computer literate, and speak reasonable Spanish :)I love animals, and usually get good feedback from my cooking!

My Life Philosophy

Live, love and laugh.

My Occupation

Mum, photographer, writer and sculptor.

What I Read, Watch, and Listen to

too many to mention!

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Stone/Flint walls
From having read and researched online, all these styles are appealing as they are natural.

My Education

Degree in philosophy and social anthropology CTEFLA - certificate to teach English as a foreign language.

My Eating Habits