Jim Self's Profile

Jim Self's picture

My Gender


A Little about Me

I'm honoured to be involved in thePOOSH.org! This site has been a dream of so many peoples for so many years, and i'm glad to be involved in its future. I live with my beautiful girlfriend Maarja in Lahemaa National Park, Estonia along with two friends Kait & Shawn who are living this experience with us until December. Kait & Shawn are wonderful people who have been working along Maarja and I since March to build a 'Permaculture inspired greenhouse', round cordwood power station, wooden framed & strawbale insulated workshop, round load bearing strawbale sauna, renovate our 1930s log cabin, construct a chicken coop and care for 10 hens, 1 cockerel & 2 kittens! We live completely off grid: drinking well water, producing electricity from solar (home made PV panels) and looking into building a pedal powered generator and wind/water turbine. I believe that everyone should have the opportunity to build their own home, whilst serving our planet kindly. It's a basic human right, and one that so many folks have seemed to forget and pass upon. I'm really into re-using materials- mainly the stuff other people/factories etc regard as rubbish. For me, its the ultimate empowerment to create something essential (shelter, electricity, clean water, food) out of something that was destined for landfill. I really enjoy the 'scavenging' and the buzz for striking gold! All whilst 'working' for myself, with my mates, in the sun- smiling. Ive spent several of the last years on the road in The Americas, seeking new landscapes and communicating with some amazing people. I have a lust for music - both playing & partying. I really enjoy meeting new people, having a laugh, working things out and getting shit done! I like the feeling that knowing sustainable building is sustainable on the planet, my pocket and also my happiness! That is a winner.

Additional Photos

References Left

I'm sure he's a cool guy when you meet him, but my experience trying to volunteer for Jim was not so great. I arrived in Tallinn in September and had a really hard time getting in touch with him, and then heard nothing for a few days. After about a week of sleeping on the street in...
I love this guy!
Jim is a fantastic individual with a beautiful approach to life. He has an excellent attitude and can work like nobody else--wether it be mashing computer keys or cob! Jim is a brilliant leader, communicator and marketing master extraordinaire! I am so excited to be working with him on '...
He will make you laugh and keep you working toward your best. Let this guy onto your build project and see some work get done quick! I have loved working with him in the past, and it can only get better in the future!
After working on various tasks with James, I can say he has an open-minded and straightforward attitude towards working in a build project. By nature he is a problem solver, always thinking about how to use time and resources most efficiently. If there is something he does not like – it must be...

My Build Projects

Mari and I have been living in the forest since March 2013 and love it! We are 100% off-grid and are enjoying the challenges that this brings as well as the empowerment of self-reliance it creates. We try to develop as sustainable as possible...
Eco-Nomics is an Estonian based and focused, non-profit organisation which explores the possibilities of decreasing the costs, instead of searching for more money. LISA INFO EESTI KEELES: economics4eesti.wordpress.com The organisation is...

Why I Build Sustainably

"sustainable building tehniques are a serious and rational answer to many of the environmental concerns facing mankind in the 21st century! DUH!"

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

I like to get involved in most new learning opportunities presented at sustainable build projects. I'm a quick learning who would rather be busy than standing around looking for tasks to complete. I have an expanding knowledge of sustainable building techniques which I would love to share with others. Having owned a 1975 VW Westfalia Ive picked up some handy mechanical skills regarding that specific motor. With the help of a Couchsurfing friend I striped and rebuilt the motor! Sharing that would make the experience even more worth while! I do miss that bus.... I've got a small Spanish vocab which I would like to develop- Spanish/English exchange? And I enjoy jamming drums and percussion with others. thePOOSH.org DOES need to be shared with everyone!!

My Life Philosophy

Invest in yourself and those around you

Building Styles I have Experience in

Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Stone/Flint walls
I've helped build an earthship in Oregeon, USA. A timber framed round house in Wales. A straw bale semi-detached project also in Wales. Traditional barn restoration in Suffolk, England. Strawbale & cob extension in Belgium. Timbre roofing experience in East Germany. Cob activities in Estonia! Have held PV solar panel workshops

My Building Qualifications

Level 1 plumbing certificate. (best Christmas present ever, thanks Grandad..)

My Occupation

Reveller. Co-founder thePOOSH.org

My Website

Building Styles I'm Interested in

Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
Stone/Flint walls
They are ecomonic and environmental solutions to all of my building dreams!

My Education

I've been fortunate to have been exposed to a good education. That said, I strongly believe that my greatest education has been through informal learning experiences whilst traveling and sharing with others. It's a cliché eh, but I stand by it 100%!

My Eating Habits

Spicy & veggie is the stapel. I'm becoming evermore concious of the meatI eat - and as so - eat it fairly rarely and under certain conditions..! I've a few pretty serious allergies to nuts and legumes which do need a little thought.