David Allen's Profile

David Allen's picture

My Gender


A Little about Me

I'm a sometime musician with a deep love of the earth. I gave up my flat in Manchester and spent four years wwoofing in France,Spain and the UK. I've done planting, weeding, clearing, harvesting, etc., and also worked on construction sites. Most of the construction was traditional except for a straw bale building project in Spain and some clay/straw insulation work in France. In between wwoofing i've worked as a gardener for a small landscaping company in Manchester. I'm fit and strong and willing to work hard.

Additional Photos

Why I Build Sustainably

I don't think there's any need or right to live beyond our means and I really enjoyed working in construction.

Skills I would like to Work on or Share.

I have a full clean driving license.

My Life Philosophy

People thriving and flourishing in harmony with nature.

Building Styles I have Experience in

Straw Bale
I spent a month on a straw bale building project in Spain in 2011. The site was a bit chaotic and the 'designer' and 'foreman' had very different ideas as to how to build the house. Progress was very slow and little was learned or built. I spent a week or so mixing clay and earth to make insulation for a log cabin. We rammed it into temporary moulds. At the same site I mixed and applied (threw) lime render on an internal wall.

My Occupation


Building Styles I'm Interested in

Rammed Earth
Earthship/used tires
Straw Bale
Adobe/Mud Bricks
Reclaimed Materials
Local Materials (ie Sustainable Wood)
I'll keep trying working in different styles till I find what I like doing.

My Education

MSc Environmental Protection BSc Combined Studies; Ecosystems and Man, Social Psychology Introductory Course in Counselling

My Eating Habits

I'm happy to cook and can make a great, authentic, pakistani recipe dahl.